So I haven’t been blogging much here. And part of the reason is that I haven’t been writing as much. Having wrapped up Mark of the Ninja, I’ve been out looking for more game writing and narrative design work. I have a few leads, but most of them are speculative, or aren’t signed, or they’re not public, or there’s some other reason not to talk about them? Some days, I just play videogames all night. But that’s okay! Life rewards the patient, and I hope later this year to have some cool stuff to reveal, as well as some more essays to post, more links to share, and so on.

In the meantime, here are a few things I’ve been up to:

I moderated a panel on games and learning for Zócalo Public Square in Los Angeles, with a dream team of experts that included James Gee, Kaveri Subrahmanyam, and Richard Lemarchand. The panelists brought a range of perspectives across practice and theory, and we went from 0 to 60 pretty quickly; no lengthy handwringing about Math Blaster here! That link will take you straight to a video of the panel.

I was interviewed by Kill Screener and journo around town Yannick LeJacq for Bit Creature, and by my old pal and PixelVixen 707-coconspirator, J. C. Hutchins for his StoryForward podcast. They’re both stellar guys, strong journos and fab writers, but they’re also very different guys, so check them both out!

I contributed an essay to the book Unbored, by Joshua Glenn and Elizabeth Foy Larsen. Unbored is a massive, fun idea book of activities for kids of pretty much any age. I’m really proud to be in here and if you know any young people, I highly recommend checking it out.

Over at Unwinnable, I’m still writing my column about playing games with my kid. I’m overdue to start this up again in the new year. I’m still struggling to think of a hip way to explain why we’ve been playing Skylanders.

I set a goal of writing a short story a week. If any of them are any good, you’ll hear about it here.

And that’s about it! Hope you’re having a good new year too.